Candy Corn Wreath

Happy [basically] fall! Yes yes it is that time again for pumpkin flavored and scented everything. My home smells quite scrumptious these days. Because it is [practically] fall, I decided to finally post a wreath that I actually made for last Halloween.

This works out perfectly because Sonja the Pintester is hosting another Pintester Movement. Have you ever checked out her blog? No? Pause here and go do it. She tests different Pinterest pins and writes about her experiences. This is the third Pintester Movement she’s done and since I’ve been meaning to make this post anyway, it’s perfect timing!

pintester

So here we go! There are about 8 million options if you type “Candy Corn Wreath” into your Pinterest search. I chose this one from Woman’s Day. It only requires a foam wreath, black duct tape, hot glue, ribbon and, ovbs, candy corn.

Start off by wrapping the wreath in duct tape then start lining up the candy corn. Also, not necessarily required, but always a huge help, two gorgeous kitties.

IMAG3335

Just helping my momma!

IMAG3336

um, mom, can I have the leftovers?

Then just glue the candy corns down as you go along. Keep going until the wreath is done! Then tie one some ribbon (black, yellow, orange, whatever!) and voila! Cute, simple Halloween wreath.

IMAG3338

Easy, festive Halloween wreath

Once it’s done, hang it on your front door!

Oh yeah…and pray that it doesn’t rain until November 1st…

IMAG3382

Yum

IMAG3383

womp womp

Can you see the drips of melting candy? Maybe this was meant to be an inside craft…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Candy Corn Wreath

  1. John Plevka says:

    Sweet!

  2. Pingback: Pintester Movement | Pintester

  3. Cute. I love that your kitties tried to “help” that is what mine always does. Wow if yours melted this much I can’t imagine what it would do here in Florida. Way to be festive though.

    Cherin // masterfullyme.com

  4. Ashley Bee says:

    Haha, I was like “oh boy! a pin-win!” until you got to the melting candy. Oh well. Maybe a spray with some sort of clear sealant would have been wise? Very pretty either way!

    • hkschulte says:

      I wondered that too. I did have some clear spray paint out in the garage…but that would mean having to go out and actually doing it. I probably won’t try this again to test it out 🙂

  5. Tini says:

    N’aww, your kitty helpers are just too cute!
    Your wreath is pretty adorable too, pity that the candy corn started to fall off!

  6. Awwwww the little orange puddle in front of your door is so sad! 😦 Good try, though!

  7. Kristen says:

    I’m surprised the kitty didn’t bat the candy away! Such a good idea though…this one I may even do with the kiddos…thx for the idea.

    • hkschulte says:

      Oh they definitely were batting it around! haha. It’s so hard to do anything with them around, but I love ’em!

      If you do make this let me know how it goes! (Especially if you put it up outside!)

  8. cwupcake says:

    I seem to remember doing a similar kind of craft back in my arts and crafts school days. I think we got a basic acrylic spray sealer and sprayed the ever-loving crap out of the candy corn. It should also help keep critter from wanting to eat your decor.

  9. Heather says:

    With my luck I would have birds dive bombing my door trying to eat the candy.

  10. It certainly comes together nicely. With the first picture, I wasn’t sure that it would look so good, but it is totally cute when done. I, myself, would have had a hard time with this as it probably requires not eating half the bag while looking for a glue gun.

  11. Amanda J. says:

    Yeah, there’d be like three candy corns on this wreath at my house. And the sad, melty-ness is just more Halloweeny, right?

  12. Looking at my neighbors orange leafy wreath, I want one for fall. However, candy corn doesn’t ever enter my shopping cart (mystical force field keeps it out) so this won’t work for me. It looked awesome…well except for the messy dropping candy. Good try.

  13. My pets *love* to “help” with my Pinterest attempts. Last time, I made a coffee filter paper flower that they ate. This time, I went with a recipe, and my cats gnawed into my bag of brown sugar. If I tried to make this wreath, I suspect the candy corns would end batted underneath the couch by the cats and eventually eaten by my dog.

Leave a comment