Two Down Two to Go!

image

Today marks the halfway mark of no-sugar January! This is what I have learned about myself so far: I snack on junk food all of the time. It is so easy to do, especially when it’s just sitting out. This happens most at my parents because they always have candy and cookies sitting out. When I bake, I don’t want it to go to waste, so I eat it just because. I really have never been very health-conscious. I eat what I want when I want it (and sometimes when I don’t want it and do it just because).

Today was my nephew’s first birthday party and obviously we had to turn down cake and ice cream. It’s not an easy thing to do when everyone around you is eating it, and, duh, you’re at a birthday party! If I wasn’t doing this this month, I am sure I would have had a piece of cake after the singing and then another one later in the day when everyone else had another. I am glad that I am gaining some self awareness through doing this!

Now, you’d think that I’d be counting the days to February 1st. However, I excited to announce (haha it’s really not that big of an announcement) that I am starting an 8-week get healthy challenge with Becky and Heather tomorrow! I found the challenge at sixsistersstuff.com. Basically, it is 8 weeks long and you award yourself points for doing different healthy things each week. The categories include: drinking 64 oz/day, stop eating before 9 p.m., eating two serving of fruit and three of veggies, no sweets (but only 6 days a week!), keeping a food journal, exercising and contacting a teammate. I am excited to be doing this just as a way to get healthy and to see if I can do it (i know I can!). It’ll be fun to have Becky and Heather doing it with me so that we can keep one another motivated. We are starting a blog and I’ll prob post the link once we start.

I weighed myself tonight (you get extra points for losing weight) for the first time this month. It was way less than I expected, I really thought it’d be at least 5 or 6 pounds more, which makes me wonder how much weight I have lost from not eating sweets for two weeks. I’m not really doing this to lose weight, I want to start better eating and working out habits.

Can’t believe January is already halfway over!!

This entry was posted in Married Life, My Life, Random and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Two Down Two to Go!

  1. Pingback: No Sweets January, 2014 | Hannah K

Leave a comment