VoxBox: NYC Applelicious Lip Balm

When I think of the NYC brand, I usually think of 16 years olds. This really isn’t a brand that I buy these days, but I was excited to try this lip balm.

wpid-20130604_214925.jpg

NYC Applelicious Lip Balm

A few months ago, I decided that it was time for me to grow up and start wearing some lipstick. I bought a Maybelline Color Whisperers in a very light pink. I was excited that the NYC Applelicious had some tint in it!

Really, I’m a chapstick girl. I’ve gotta have my chapstick with me 24/7 (aka legit addicted, I always have to have it on my lips). The NYC balm had a similar feel to when I have chapstick on, so I liked that a lot. It wasn’t sticky like some lipsticks. However, it doesn’t last very long. It did not pass my 30-minute-drive-to-work test. When I got to work I felt like I already needed to put some more on (but, that may just be me always having to have something on my lips!). I haven’t noticed how long the tint stays on. I’ve never brought the balm with me, I just put some on before I leave and then switch to my chapstick for the rest of the day.

I liked the color that I received, which I believe was Big Apple Red. I would never buy red lipstick, but this color is nice because it’s definitely not a red red. I don’t think the color lasts too long, but if you reapply during the day for color, you’ll be fine.

And now: here are the two most awkwardess pictures I’ll ever post on my  blog.

wpid-20130604_214530.jpg

nothing on my lips (well besides some leftover chapstick, obvs)

wpid-20130604_214700.jpg

NYC Applelicious Big Apple Red

Can you even see a difference? I think you can see in the bottom that it’s a little glossy with just a little tint.

I don’t know if I’ll buy this product again. For a cheap balm, I like it. And, I’m a cheap person, so I take that back, I may buy it again sometime. I’d probably choose a pink tone instead of the red though. I do like that I got to try something that I wouldn’t normally buy!

I received this product complimentary from Influenster for testing purposes

This entry was posted in Influenster, VoxBox and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

