Chevron Flower Pots

A few weeks ago a craft idea popped into my head (I promise! I didn’t find it on pinterest!). When I get craft ideas, I get super excited and want to start right away. Unfortunately for me, this was around 11 p.m. on a Monday night. It gave me the perfect excuse to wake up the next morning though, and by 8:02 a.m., I was walking through the doors of Walmart to pick up my supplies (and groceries, lame).

My idea was that chevron is in and it’s spring, so flowers are in: I’ll paint chevron flower pots! I did google it to see what others have done (I knew that even though it was a fabulous idea, I most certainly wasn’t the first to think it up). I read a few posts (this one especially, she used math to figure it all out, and I loved the idea of painting the rims black) just to get an idea of what I was getting myself into. Luckily, it’s a fairly easy project, you just gotta have some patience (and math skills…).

Chevron Flower Pots

flower pots

The supplies you’ll need for this include:

  • Paint (I used Folk Art Acrylics. They actually do have a kind that is specifically for using outdoors, but I was in love with the neon colors. I did use the outdoor white as a primer)
  • A clear spray paint to seal it. I picked out a glossy one from the spray paint section.
  • Paint brushes
  • Pencil
  • Masking or painters tape
  • Measuring tape (I bought one in the sewing department, a ruler would work fine though too)
  • Flower pots (Walmart was out!! It’s the middle of May & they didn’t have any on the shelves. I had to make a trip to Kmart where the employees were friendly & they had what I needed, for cheap. Win win!)
  • Potting soil
  • Gardening gloves & a trowel (not necessary, but helpful!)
  • Flowers!

I’m so lucky the day I decided to do this it was gorgeousss out. Start by getting your pots ready & laying out some newspaper to paint on (yes I sat on my concrete back patio, yes I got a weird sunburn on my legs from sitting with them crossed).

wpid-20130514_092942.jpg

Plain, ‘ol flower pots mmmmboring

wpid-20130514_093929.jpg

Paint them white

Actually, you don’t necessarily have to paint them white. Helen came over on Wednesday and used paints that were dark enough and didn’t need a primer. Test an area on the bottom to see if your paint will cover it well enough or not.

wpid-20130514_104436.jpg

Make a grid to follow for taping

Here’s where it gets kind of hairy. Since I don’t know how to do math, my dots were all over the place. I should have started at the bottom and worked my way up to the top (I think??). Eventually I kind of gave up and just eye-balled it. The lines weren’t super even in the end, but I think they look fine.

wpid-20130514_113719.jpg

Tape it off

I don’t know how I ended up getting them to look even for the most part, so just play with it. It took a lot of taping and retaping before I got it to where I liked it. [also…don’t tape inside on the carpet when you have cats…you’ll get outside the next morning and have tons of hair stuck inside the tape. Don’t say I didn’t warn ya!]

I was originally going to just paint like two of the taped-off sections, then I realized, duh, it will be white from where I take the tape off. So,when you start painting, just go for it. It doesn’t have to be super pretty. I used a sponge paint brush for this (but I think on the others I just used regular brushes).

Here’s where I stopped taking pictures I guess. When I put the first layer of pink on, it was super super thin. To fix that, I mixed it with white to make it a more solid color and that worked much better. I did a couple (maybe three?) layers of the mixed paint and then went and did a few more layers of just the neon pink. Since it was so warm out that day, the paint dried quickly & I didn’t have to wait between layers.

wpid-20130514_193628.jpg

Take the tape off

When I got home from work, I could not wait to get back out there and continue! After I pulled the tape of, it was (clearly) kind of a mess. I carefully painted in the white sections with a few layers of white to cover up the pencil marks and where the pink got under the tape. I think I also put on a little more pink (I’m obsessed with this color).

wpid-20130514_202104.jpg

Can’t have a post without a kitty pic! “What doin’, mom?”

I taped off the other two pots that night, then did the same process on Wednesday morning. Helen came over and we enjoyed the sun and some iced coffee. It was a perfect morning.

wpid-20130518_103627.jpg

Black rim and clear spray paint

That night, I painted the rims of the pots black. I just love how the black makes the bright colors pop even more. I then sprayed them with a clear, glossy spray paint to seal them.

wpid-20130518_103714.jpg

Purple

wpid-20130518_103702.jpg

Blue

wpid-20130518_103641.jpg

Pink

You can see some imperfections from up close, but from far away you can’t. Plus, I don’t care 🙂

Then it was potting time. My dad is the king of flowers, but I had no clue what I was doing. I picked out some petunias that I thought looked nice together and bought some soil. I also got myself a trowel and Helen picked me up a pair of gardening gloves (that she gave me after I’d already potted the plants, oh well-guess I have to get some more!).

wpid-20130518_103846.jpg

Scotts…to pretend like I knew what I was doing

Sidenote…I met my new neighbors on the hot, Saturday morning after I’d just gotten done planting the flowers. I.looked.great…

wpid-20130518_110105.jpg

Final product

This is a super cute and fairly easy project to jazz up your front or back porch for the spring!

Another sidenote: it’s been over a week and my flowers are still alive! hooray!

Linking up with: craftomaniac today’screativeblog sewchatty  beyondthepicketfence sugar&dots notjustahousewife katiesnestingspot shabbycreekcottage

This entry was posted in Crafts, My Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chevron Flower Pots

  1. Hey there!
    I love the colours! They look amazing!!!
    Thanks so much for checking out my webpage and referencing back to me. Now I feel guilty that I have been ignoring my little blog lately.
    Love your blog btw!!!
    Thanks again, Anne-Marie

Leave a Reply

