Taco Soup

Every time I make this soup, I always have to dig through my Facebook messages because I know at one point my sister-in-law sent it to me that way. I figure posting it here will make it easier for me to find in the future & I get to share a delicious recipe!

This soup has more of a chili-consistency than a soup-consistency. I’ve always thought about doubling up the cans of tomatoes to give it more liquid. This recipe only makes probably 4-6 servings (4 for us, but I think we had big bowls), so I’d double it if you’re wanting to make it for a big group (or want more leftovers!).

1 lb. ground hamburger or turkey (I always use beef, for some reason ground turkey freaks me out)
1 large can of diced tomatoes
1 can of Rotel
1 can of corn, drained
2 cans of kidney beans, drained
1/2 pkg of taco seasoning mix
1 pkg of powdered ranch dressing mix

Season and brown your hamburger or turkey. Add your taco seasoning mix and tomatoes. Stir. Add everything else and let simmer for about 45 minutes to an hour.

This can also be thrown in the crock pot for a few hours. I’ve done both ways.

I serve it with Fritos, cheese and sour cream and mix that all in it. You could also probably serve it with spaghetti if you wanted more of a chili mac.

Oh! If you are someone who takes their lunch to work or school, I recommend buying one of these mugs. It’s so nice to take something other than sandwiches in my lunch and these mugs are so easy to transport and easy to clean. I’ve always hated making a lunch (see?), so owning these mugs has been so nice. For some reason these are more convenient than using a pyrex container and the little vent top is nice and the handle doesn’t get too hot, so it’s easy to take out of the microwave.

Oh, and since we’re still having December weather out there (which I am perfectly okay with!), this soup is perfect to warm up with!

wpid-20130228_130708.jpg

Yummy taco soup

**Edit! This was my 100th post!! […only took two years]

Image | This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

