Pretzel Dogs

Most days, M & I have a hard time figuring out what we’re going to have for dinner. Then, once we decide on something, I see something online while I’m at work that I havvvve to make that night, which tosses all of the original plans out the window. That’s exactly what happened about a week ago. I think we were going to have frozen chicken parm and then, I saw these-pretzel dogs! Livelovepasta quickly became one of my favorite websites for recipes last fall. I think I found the Queso Blanco recipe from that site and they do a lot of recipes from Pioneer Woman. I love it because a. they post great stuff and b. they include lots of pictures, which is what I need when I’m making something new!

So, I found the pretzel dogs post and decided that I needed these. Now! (or six hours later since it was probably 2 in the afternoon when I came across the post). I sent M and email with a grocery list and I headed home after work to start making the dough. I think I’ve mentioned before that yeast scares me. I tried making breadsticks a few weeks ago and they turned out okay, but not great. This recipe gave pretty good step-by-step steps, so I figured I could do it. If anyone has yeast advice, please send it my way! I’d love to make more breads and stuff, but feel bad for wasting something that doesn’t turn out (even though I know I gotta practice if I want to learn!).

Combine the sugar, water and then add in the yeast. Let it sit for about five minutes.

Oh, I might mention that I was way excited to use my dough hook for the first time!

After the yeast is good to go, add in the flour, salt and the melted butter.

Mix it all together.

This is where I don’t know how to long to mix. I feel like I may have done too much, but they still turned out, so I’m not too worried :).

After it mixes, cover the bowl with a damp cloth and set in a warm place to let it rise. I don’t know how long you’re supposed to let it rise. I also don’t know if mine rose haha. I let it set for about 45 minutes because I was impatient and hungry. My finger indents stayed, so I figured it would be okay!

When the dough is ready, section it off depending on how many hotdogs you’re using. I made 8 halved hotdogs, so only used 4. You can start boiling your water and baking soda at this point so that it’s ready when you are!

Section off the dough. Also, check out my new, real, cutting board from my momma! I guess she was getting tired of my using my one that's like 6x10 with me & M's faces on it.

Roll the dough like you're making snakes with playdoh, then wrap them around the dogs.

Rolling the dough started to make my hands burn! Like real bad burn!! I don’t know if it was just from rolling or if my skin reacted to one of the ingredients, but it hurt! I finally just made pretzel bites with some of the dough and then left two big clumps, which I later baked (and didn’t eat…Hel said it tasted okay though!). Anyway, it was weird! Luckily, the burning went away a little later.

My hands felt like they were on fi-ya!

Next, drop the pretzels into the boiling water/baking soda.

Drop the pretzels in the boiling water. Wait until they float and get puffy and then they are ready to take out.

It makes the pretzels kind of slimy…Be careful or else you might lose one!

sad pretzel 😦

Most of my pretzels fell off the hotdogs. I think this could be solved by pinching the dough together better before boiling. However, please remember that my hands were burning, so at that point I didn’t really care!

De-pretzeled dogs

Brush with egg white/water mix and sprinkle salt on them

Let these bake at 425 for about 20 minutes.

Finished pretzels!

Once they’ve cooked, they are ready to be served! That night I tried to make a cheese sauce. It did not turn out (I knew it wouldn’t). Luckily, I had added a jar of Ragu cheese to M’s grocery list. I def recommend this cheese! It’s not fancy, but it tastes great with pretzels.

Serve with cheese, mustard, ketchup, whatever! Fries make a nice side.

And, you guessed it, writing this makes me want these again, which means this is what I want for dinner!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

