Cream Cheese Pumpkin Bread

I was recently going through my phone and realized I have a ton of food pictures that I never posted recipes for. I have a valid excuse though-we haven’t had internet at our place since we moved in five months ago. Now that I have a job with a computer, I plan on posting more and getting caught up (in between answering phone calls and taking students’ money, of course).

I posted a few pumpkin recipes last fall, Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies and Pumpkin Bars [omg just thinking about these makes me can’t wait for September!]. I love pumpkin bread and I came across this recipe which has a cream cheese swirl. I also love cream cheese, so I couldn’t wait to try this!

For the bread you will need:

  • 1 cup of pecans or walnuts (these are optional, I didn’t use them)
  • 3 1/2 c flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 c sugar
  • 1 c melted butter
  • 1 15 oz can of pure pumpkin
  • 1/2 c water
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Ingredients

For the cream cheese filling:

  • 8 oz package of cream cheese, room temperature
  • 1/2 c sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 tbs flour

For the bread, mix the dry ingredients together in a large bowl.

Dry ingredients

Then, whisk the eggs and add in the melted butter and sugar. Thrown in the pumpkin, water and vanilla extract. Mix the two bowls together.

Eggs, sugar, butter, pumpkin, water, vanilla

Yum!

To make the cream cheese filling, beat the cream cheese until smooth. Add the sugar and the eggs then the flour.

Mix all of the cream cheese ingredients

You’ll want to split the pumpkin mixture in half. You could really use any pan- the recipe I got this from used two loaf pans. I went for a loaf pan and then a mini loaf pan.

Layer of pumpkin mixture

Layer of cream cheese mixture

And another layer of pumpkin

Mini loaves

Then bake them for an hour or until a toothpick comes out clean. I’m assuming that I baked the smaller ones for a little less, but it’s been a while 🙂

Finished mini loaves!

Perfect for a chilly fall day…orrrrr a cold day in the winter, like today!

 
 
This entry was posted in Food, Recipes, Snacks, Sweets and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cream Cheese Pumpkin Bread

  1. kati says:

    omg im drooling

Leave a Reply

