Have Some More…

Slllllloppy Joesssss!

When I think of sloppy joes, I think of Manwich, Billy Madison and the one food that I will eat that my husband won’t. Seriously, I am a fairly picky eater and he will eat basically anything-except for sloppy joes! So, basically the past two years of my life have been sloppy joe-less [insert a few tears, but only a few].

I grew up eating Manwich-brown some meat & toss in a can (well, not the actual can, the contents of the can) & eat. That is until I married into the Schulte family and was given my mother-in-law’s recipe (one of the best Christmas gifts ever was a cookbook full of her delish recipes!). M’s sister makes sloppy joes for her students (fellow student affairs professional, I knew I was meant for this family…woot woot) and has told me how they lick her crock pot clean when she makes them. I hadn’t tried the recipe until tonight. My mom suggested sloppy joes last night & I said I’d try out M’s mom’s recipe.

It’s so easy & so delish! Here’s how you make it:

2 lbs. hamburger (my mom used three, so we just doubled everything else)

1/3 cup vinegar

1/3 cup brown sugar

2/3 cup water

1/2 cup ketchup

1 tablespoon mustard

dried onion

salt&pepper (I forgot this, it tasted fine)

Brown the meat (my mom did this last night). Mix everything else together and then mix it into the meat. I let it simmer on low for probably just over an hour or so. Meanwhile, I made some tots & corn (best sides for sloppy joes!). My mom bought fancy Kroger-brand buns with sesame seeds.

Apparently, sloppy joe freezes well, so if you, like I, am the only one in your household who enjoys sloppy joes, you can freeze it for when you want some more. And trust me, you will want some more!!

Mother-in-Law Sloppy Joes

 

This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Have Some More…

  1. Joanne Plevka says:

    Wow girl. . . did you get the gift of writing from your dad?? This is an excellent post, down to the tasteful picture. You go girl, can’t wait to try it.
    Love ya,
    Joanne

Leave a Reply

