Queso Blanco

One of my favorite things about going to Mexican restaurants (besides the salsa and margaritas, of course) is the queso cheese you can get to go with your chips. My friend Liz‘s favorite is from Los Portrillos in Charleston, IL. Luckily for me, there was a Los in Normal that M & I would frequent. Now, living in the middle of corn, which is in the middle of more corn, beans and pumpkins, my Mexican options are limited. I have been looking for a queso blanco recipe for quite a while. I tried one a few years ago that just didn’t melt right and I haven’t attempted it again. That is until I found this recipe and just haddd to try it.

This is the perfect dip to serve at parties or football games or to just have at home with tacos or chicken taquitos on a Sunday night. I’ve been wanting to make this for a while and figured last night would be the perfect time to try it. I will admit that it is still not as great as authentic Mexican queso, but it comes pretty close and definitely hits the spot!

To make this you will need:

White American Cheese, Monterey Jack Cheese, Onion, Jalapeno, Tomato, Milk and Cilantro

I started by dicing up the onion, jalapeno and tomato. You can leave the jalapeno seeds in if you can handle the heat. I can’t handle it, so I left them out (although, I did leave a few to pretend I like spicy things). Then, grate your cheeses. You can find white american cheese at your local delicatessen. I got it cut into thick slices. It was kind of tough to grate without scraping my fingers, so I ended up chopping it up and it melted just fine.

White American & Monteray Jack

After everything is chopped and grated, start cooking the onion and jalapeno.

Onion & jalapeno with a little oil

Then, pour in some milk and stir in the cheese.

Melting cheese

After this, just let the cheese melt down. You can add some more milk until it reaches the consistency you want. Like any cheese sauce, it gets hard as it cools, so just toss it in the microwave if that happens before you finish it. I ended up drizzling some on my chips and also put some in the taquitos.

Queso Blanco

[this is where I would write “Enjoy!” en espanol if I remembered how to conjugate]

This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Queso Blanco

  1. Pingback: Chicken Taquitos | Hannah's Blog

  2. Elizabeth says:

    Queso yummo!!!

  3. Pingback: Pretzel Dogs | Hannah's Blog

Leave a Reply

