I Love Lucy!

Happy 100th birthday Lucille Ball!

When I woke up today and checked my Facebook, I had a message to check out Google’s homepage. There I found an old television set with “Google” written in cursive like the Lucy theme song. But that wasn’t it! Click the little dial on the right and it played clips from Lucy! This might possibly be the best day of my life.

I actually started an I Love Lucy post last spring, so I figured today would be the perfect day to actually write it.

Basically, I.Love.Lucy!! I have been watching it for as long as I can remember. I remember watching it before I went to bed when we lived in Freeport and then catching an episode here and there. It was during my senior year in college when I started getting really into it. My roommate Alicia and I discovered it was on Hallmark channel in the morning. Watching it made me late to many noon one-on-ones with Josh because I wouldn’t leave until it was over (sorry Josh!). Then that Christmas, Alicia got season one and I got season two. For Valentine’s Day, I got season three, so those kept us occupied for a while.

But, owning seasons 1, 2 & 3 wasn’t enough when I found out there were 9 seasons! (ps, these aren’t actually seasons like we have seasons today-there’s just a bunch of episodes in order on a lot of discs. I don’t know why they broke them into different seasons, I guess just to break it up a bit). Santa was good to me that next Christmas:

I Love Lucy complete set

Those next few months were spent watching I Love Lucy, as well as The Lucy Show, the hour-long shows featuring different celebrities. It was the perfect show to cuddle up on the couch with a blanket and watch during winter show. So perfect, that I did it again this past winter. I am pretty sure that re-watching all (and I mean all) of these episodes is going to be my new winter tradition.

I don’t think that I have one favorite episode (maybe I’ll re-watch them all and get back to you), but I do have three favorite clips.

Vitameatavegamin is a classic. I guess it’s more classic than I originally knew because it’s not one that I had seen before until I started getting into it. Or maybe I had seen it, but just didn’t appreciate it. This is probably one of the funniest scenes everrrr.

This scene just makes me happy. It’s not in a well-known episode (it’s when Lucy, Ricky & Little Ricky visit Ricky’s family in Cuba), but I love this father-son scene (although I only recently learned that the boy who played Little Ricky wasn’t actually their son – I still like to pretend he is).

And probably my all-time, heartwarming, make you cry tears of happiness, lets pretend Lucy & Ricky never got a divorce, favorite scene:

[and yes, I am in denial that they got a divorce and just pretend nothing happened as I’m watching]

Out of all the comedy shows I’m into today, The Office, Parks & Rec, Modern Family, this is still the greatest show ever. I plan on sharing my DVDs with my kids (or hope that it comes out in whatever technology is out when that time comes). I think for today, I will dig out my set, put in a random disk and watch a few episodes. Happy birthday Lucille Ball, thank you for making my life complete!

Day Six: Lucille Ball's 100th birthday

This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Love Lucy!

  1. Hoogs says:

    Really glad you took a screen shot because I must have missed it!

Leave a Reply

