Marching Band

Six, five or four years ago if you would have asked me if I wanted watch a marching band show, I would have said, “no way jose.” If you would have asked me three years ago, I would have said, “meh I guess so.” Now. I’m. Hooked.

If you knew me in high school, you know that I was in band, but didn’t march. I enjoyed playing and never had any interest in marching (when I was at my old school, I quit band after 5th grade because I didn’t want to do parades in 6th, so I really never wanted to). My sister joined marching band as a freshmen (and even got to march in Obama’s inaugural parade-awesome!) and has loved it since she began. During her sophomore year, I went to a few of their shows and to the big competition in Indy. Last year, I went to a bunch of them too and woke up early to watch the live feed in Indy online since I didn’t go.

They went to camp last week and tonight parents (and siblings) could come and see what they have done so far. I just don’t understand how they can learn so much in such a short amount of time! Helen says that if I did it, I would quickly catch on (she gives examples of dumb kids who still get it), but I really don’t know if I would!

I still miss being in band. Second semester of my freshman year of college, I played in the college concert band. Last Christmas, my neighbor put together a band to play with her choir for their Christmas Eve mass. Even though I’m sure I was really bad, I had a ton of fun doing it!

I don’t know what my parents (and Helen too) are going to do next year after she’s graduated, but this year, we’re going to enjoy it!

Also, in this picture, Helen is standing behind the stand in purple shorts. This is during her solo 🙂

Day Two: MHS Marching Band practice

 

 

This entry was posted in My Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Marching Band

  1. hel says:

    oh, sweetums.

Leave a Reply

