My Wedding Story

By the time I post this, it will August (!) 2nd, but I’m starting it on the first, so it counts!

Today was me & M’s second-year wedding anniversary!! I seriously can’t believe that it has been two years already. When I was little, I always imagined getting married. Even throughout high school when I never dated anyone, I never considered not getting married. I met M at Eastern (I will save our story for another post)-it will be 6 years ago in a few weeks! I still don’t know how it all worked out (haha that sounds weird), but it did. Sometimes it is hard for me to believe that I am 24 years old and married (sheesh, I suppose I was only 22 when I actually got married!) and that feels real young. At the same time, I am glad that I got married at that age because I am enjoying this time together before kids. When we got married, M said that we would wait five years before having kids. I was all “oh whatever, if it’s three years, that’s fine.” Now that we’re already two years in and there’s only three years left before it’ll be five years, it’s a different story! I feel like we have a lot to live and learn in the next three years, plus, we don’t even know where we’ll be! Sometimes I wish that it’d just be ten years from now already, but I’m a person who lives in the present and likes to enjoy whats going on now because I know it’ll be ten years from now before I know it!

Anyway, back to the wedding. The days leading up to the wedding and the day of were so much fun. My girls got in on Thursday night and we drove over to Normal to see me & M’s new apartment. On Friday morning, we went into Peoria to get our nails done (my first pedicure!) and then ate lunch with my mom & Mrs. Nelson at Olive Garden. We made a quick trip to Kohls to pick up a few wedding essentials. I have no idea what we did up until the rehearsal dinner. We went to the rehearsal-M made our pastor mad before when he told him I wanted to say “I do” instead of “I will with the grace of God.” Hello-I do is so much more traditional! He told M this is why he prefers funerals-the corpse can’t change its mind! What?! Who says that?!? Especially to someone you’re about to marry?! Oh well, it has led us to many jokes from it. M’s parents had the dinner catered and we held the party in the Nelson’s garage. Nothing fancy, very us. Baseball themed. It was great. There was a pinata 🙂

We're pretend married!Pinata!

M & I took a walk up and down Jefferson Street before he headed to the hotel that night-it was the last time we’d see each other before I walked down the aisle! Somehow I got a full-night’s rest that night 🙂 I don’t know where my girls slept, but I slept in my room and I think fell asleep earlier then than I usually do. We woke up to go get our hair and make up done. At the time, I had been going to the same hair-stylist since sixth grade, so of course I was going to have her do my hair!

My fab hair stylist, Trisha, and myselfAll of the girls

Then, it was home for some lunch and time to get ready! This is probably my favorite shot of the whole weekend!

Helping me get my dress on

After a bra/suffocation emergency (simply solved by taking the bra off), we were off to the church. We had individual pictures taken first.

My parents

My dress

[side note about my dress: I got engaged on Valentine’s Day 2008. A few weeks later over spring break, we went to David’s Bridal just to set up an appointment. They told us we could look around if we wanted. It was during a $99 sale (dunno where that comes from, I don’t think anything was actually $99). I found two that I liked, tried them on and took the first one I tried home-very me! I am kind of sad I missed out on trying on a bunch of dresses with my friends, but I knew what I liked and I liked this one. It was way on sale too, so it was all good! I texted M later that night telling him there was no backing out now, I had my dress!]

Then, I walked down the aisle,

Me & Johnny P

was bored for a while,

 

During the ceremony

and, finally, was married!

The kiss!

Bubbles afterward:

Bubbles!

And then group photos. Most of you probably know that my wedding pictures did not turn out 😦 It was something that I was disappointed about, but at the same time knew there was nothing we could do about. I was able to get pictures from most everyone I knew who took some and compile all of them. There are some shots where not everyone is looking at the same camera, but it’s better than nothing! I am definitely grateful for all of our friends who had cameras that day and now when I go to weddings, I try to take as many pictures as possible just in case something like that were to happen to them. The only shots that didn’t turn out that we didn’t get otherwise were the ones with our grandmas. We ended up taking another shot later with each one (including Mama P from Kansas who was unable to make it to the ceremony) and I have a frame with all four grandma pictures.

Our wedding party minus Noah

The P's

[note the goofiness of this picture: Helen’s “smile,” dad’s eyes are closed, Reid laughing way too much, but it’s what turned out, so it’s what I have to work with! Plus, my fam is weird anyway, so it works out.]

Then it was reception time. We were introduced to the Budweiser “Here Comes the King” song (go Cardinals!).

Mr. & Mrs. Schulte

Our cake was delicious (even a year later!). I just wanted white cake with white icing. Unfortunately, I did not get to participate in a cake testing with mom & Helen. It’s okay though, they did a great job picking this one out!

White cake and white icing

And we had a great night spending time with our family and friends!

NRHH members at our wedding

People always tell you to take time to stop and remember your wedding day. I actually do remember quite a bit of it and, although it flew by, I was definitely able to enjoy it. I don’t remember much about the actual ceremony (partly from being the center of attention for a half hour and partly because wedding ceremonies are just plain boring! The only thing I remember from it is that Jeff Johnston said something like “marriage isn’t always sexy!” That def caught my attention! “What?! You did NOT just say sexy in my wedding ceremony!!” Whatev, he was a weirdo). I remember that the food was good, but don’t really remember what it was. I remember mingling with our guests the rest of the night, but I don’t really remember who. I think we left around 11? That’s a lie, I have no idea when we left. I know that there were still people there though.

We spent the night at the Embassy Suites in East Peoria. The room/hotel was sooo fancy! I want to stay there again sometime when we have the money to do so so we can actually enjoy it. We were there for less than 12 hours and slept the whole time. I think the room had two tvs in it-awesome! Oh! The best part from this was that M forgot to bring his tennis shoes in on Saturday night, so he had to wear his tux shoes to check out on Sunday morning. A guy in the elevator said “dude I am not going to comment on your shoes.”…uh pretty sure you just did.

M's tux shoes

We opened presents on Sunday morning with the wedding party and some close friends and then headed to the Wisconsin Dells for a few days.

Ready to honeymoon!

I just realized that I am a. really glad that I wrote this post and b. really glad that I took the time to organize all of my wedding pictures. It does not seem like two years have passed since this day, but I know eventually it will be further back in my memory and now I have this post to go back on (purpose of this blog!). Also, probably about a year ago (so yes, a year after the wedding), I organized all of the wedding pictures into different folders. I do have them saved twice- one time in a folder with who took it and the other is the event (getting ready, ceremony, reception, etc). I burned cds for my mom, but still have the burn folders on the desktop because I never did them for me. However, I am so glad I did that because going back to find the pictures for this post was actually pretty easy!

I now love reading about engagements and weddings, so I hope that sharing this post makes you smile just a little 🙂 [and you can leave a comment if it did! I like comments!]

