Day 3: Friends

Today I’m supposed to post a picture of me & my friends. I have so many friends from so many different groups that I’m going to post pictures and write about each one!

I suppose I should start off with my husband πŸ™‚ We have known each other for almost six years now. I know that he’ll always be there for me. We both have the same sense of humor and have a good time together.

M & I at a Cardinals game, June 2011

My best friend in the whole world is my friend Alicia. We met at Eastern and second semester of our freshmen year, we got to live together. The best memory from that freshman year is building a fort and living in it for a month. I slept on the floor and she slept on the wood slates on the bed because the mattresses were a part of the fort. Our friend John bought us pizza for keeping it up for the month; we ate the pizza in the fort before taking it down. We lived in a triple sophomore year, on the same floor junior year and then together again senior year. She’s really the only person I can talk to about anything and tell anything to. She visited me for a few days last month. I miss her so much!

Before my wedding, August 2009

I met many fabulous people at EIU, but somehow I just connected with these girls. I met Becky and Heather through M and then met Brittany through RHA stuff. The four of us didn’t start hanging out until probably Heather & Becky’s senior year. We call ourself The Gang…I don’t even know how that came about. I miss theses ladies so much! We (well, they) are all so busy, so it’s hard to keep in touch, but somehow we make it work. We were all able to travel to Iowa in April to visit Becky and I think it was the first time the four of us had been together since my wedding.

The Gang at the Lee DeWyze concert, April 2011

My sophomore roommates and I decided to go random for our junior year. I don’t know how it happened, but the housing gods roomed me with Elizabeth. I had had a horrible random roommate experience my freshman year, so was a little worried. When I found out I’d be living with Liz, I was a little nervous, but we had played on the same intramural soccer team the year before so I kind of knew her. Living with her was so great! We had the same sleeping habits, we watched Gilmore Girls and The Office together, and I introduced her to her future husband πŸ™‚ I think we’ve actually grown closer after we lived with her just by keeping in touch. The best things about her is that she is married and likes to cook πŸ™‚ We are able to share married stories and recipes. She is also my blog buddy. I wish M & I lived closer to her & Kurt so we could actually be married friends. Oh, and her one-year anniversary is this weekend ❀

Liz & I at her wedding, July 2010

And then there are my grad school friends, Sarah, Sara, Becky & Dave. It took me a while to connect with anyone in grad school and looking back, that makes me sad. I think my first year would have been so much better if I had been friends with these people sooner! I can’t believe I went almost a year and a half without actually getting to know them! With the exception of Sarah who has accepted a job in Maine, everyone is staying in the area for now at least, which is awesome! We’re already planning game nights for the semester and are getting together next week. Even though I live 30 minutes away, I’m still excited that they are still in the area for us to hang out πŸ™‚

Dave, me, Sarah, Becky and Sarah, May 2011

Last but not least, I can’t leave out my favorite neighbors-Ella & Noah πŸ™‚ I have known them for all four years of their little lives and love hanging out with them and watching them grow (except I’d be okay if they stopped growing, they’re getting too big!).

Ella, me & Noah, summer 2010

I am sad that I don’t live closer to most of my friends, but I am glad that we keep in touch!

This entry was posted in My Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

