5 (or 6 or 7) Ingrediant Pizza Bake

If you haven’t figured it out by now, I like simple dishes that taste like a lot of work went into it (example: Zero Step Fruit Dip). This pizza bake is quickly becoming one of my favorites. I discovered it last fall on bettycrocker.com. M & I have now made it 3-4 times. There are two recipes on Betty Crocker that are basically the exact same, only one calls for milk instead of water and the one that I used gives an actual measurement of how much Bisquick should be used and not “2 packets” like the other one (which, if you have Bisquick packages, you’ll be fine, but I just have a big box ‘o Bisquick).

Although the recipe only calls for 5 ingredients, feel free to throw in your favorite pizza toppings. Tonight we made it with mushrooms. I bet pineapple would be really good in it! Or you could use any pizza meat, peppers, prob whatever.
Here is the recipe:

3 1/3 cups Original Bisquick® mix
1 cup milk
2 cans (8 oz each) pizza sauce (2 cups)
1 package (8 oz) sliced pepperoni
2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese (8 oz)

  1. 1 Heat oven to 375°F. Spray 13×9-inch (3-quart) glass baking dish with cooking spray.
  2. 2 In medium bowl, stir Bisquick mix and milk until soft dough forms. Drop half of dough by spoonfuls evenly over bottom of baking dish (dough will not completely cover bottom of dish). Drizzle 1 can pizza sauce over dough. Scatter half of the pepperoni over sauce. Top with 1 cup of the cheese. Repeat layers with remaining dough, pizza sauce, pepperoni and cheese.
  3. 3 Bake 20 to 25 minutes or until golden brown.

Pizza Bake

[disclaimer: this picture is from when we made it back in January, not tonight. I believe we used the water recipe, not the milk one. However, you’d never know that if I didn’t just tell you]

I used a 14 oz jar of pizza zip (Kroger brand pizza sauce). I like a little extra sauce (and I suppose this recipe does call for 16 oz) so I threw a little pizza zap (Walmart brand…that name is a total lie, but it’d be really cool-maybe I should do branding for Walmart) on top. I used a whole bag of pizza cheese (Kroger brand…best cheese for pizza ever! It is a blend of cheeses, couldn’t tell you what kind, and it melts fabulously) because I am a cheese gal.

It makes great leftovers too. If it looks a bit dry, just throw in a little more zip or zap. Oh! And it takes about 5 minutes to prepare and 25 minutes to cook. I could be on 30 minute meals!

This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

