Not your Ordinary Chocolate Chip Cookies

Last night I was in the mood to bake something (…or maybe just in the mood to put off doing homework…which also may or may not be why I am writing this blog right now). I wasn’t going to go to the store to buy anything special to bake, so I didn’t know what I wanted to make with what I had laying around. What I did have laying around was a half block of cream cheese (leftover from hard pretzel jello a few weeks ago) in the fridge and half a bag of chocolate chips (I think leftover from the brownie bites I made for New Year’s) in the freezer (mmm love frozen chocolate chips!).

I have not gotten to the point in my life where I can just throw ingredients together and make something fabulous. So, I googled “cream cheese + chocolate chips.” I figured that a bunch of cheese cake recipes would show up and since I only had a half a block I wouldn’t have enough for any of those. But sure enough, a few results down, was a recipe for cream cheese chocolate chip cookies! AND it only required 4 ounces of cream cheese, which is what I had!

The recipe was from about.com. I think I have looked at recipes here before (they have everything on this site…about & ehow are where it’s at!) and they have been missing some steps or use ingredients that weren’t in the main list. But, this one seemed okay, so I decided to go for it.

One of my favorite desserts is cheesecake and I love cream cheese on bagels. I was in heaven when I ate some of the batter! I loved that I could definitely taste the cream cheese. I was a little worried after I put them in oven for 10 minutes and then they didn’t spread, but the bottoms were brown and the tops were starting to get some color too, so I knew that they were getting cooked.

These don’t spread out like a regular chocolate chip cookie. They basically stayed in the same shape that I had dropped them on the cookie sheet. This picture kind of looks like these cookies haven’t been cooked, but trust me, they have!

I didn’t eat one last night because it was too close to bedtime (and, I know, I know, not a good excuse, but chocolate and sugar keeps me awake!). I threw a baggie of them in my bag this morning on my way out and forgot about them until about 15 minutes ago. I think they are delicious (again because I love cream cheese). If you didn’t know cream cheese was in them, you probably wouldn’t be able to pick it out, but I do know, and I think it adds a lot. These cookies are more cakey than a regular chocolate chip cookies.

If you are looking for something different to make, I recommend these. Here’s a link to the recipe: http://southernfood.about.com/od/chocchipcookies/r/r90531re.htm

image


This entry was posted in Food, Recipes, Sweets and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Not your Ordinary Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Lindsay D says:

    Here’s a recipe for some chocolate chip/butterscotch cookies.

    Ingredients:
    12 tablespoons unsalted butter
    1 cup light brown sugar
    1/2 cup sugar

    2 egg yolks
    2 tsp vanilla

    2 cups + 2 tablespoons flour
    1/4 tsp baking soda
    1/4 tsp salt

    3/4 cup chocolate chips
    3/4 cup butterscotch chips

    1 – Melt butter in bowl in microwave. Place butter to the side (or in the fridge) to cool.

    2 – Put sugar and (packed) brown sugar in mixing bowl. Mix together. Add cooled butter.

    3. Add egg yolks and vanilla. Blend together until creamy.

    4. Combine flour, baking soda and salt in a seperate bowl. Mix together. Add flour mix to cookie batter (slowly – about 1/4 cup at a time)

    5. Stir (not mix) in your chips.

    6. Put on ungreased baking sheet. Takes about 8-10 minutes per sheet. They should be chewy and you don’t want to burn them 🙂

Leave a Reply

