My First Post!

Okay, okay. I have been saying since at least last May that I wanted to start a blog. I’ve decided to finally do it on this Friday afternoon as I productively sit around and watch I Love Lucy (and yes, I own all 9 seasons, and yes this is my second time watching them all the way through).

I remember it was last May that I wanted to start a blog because it was Cinco de Mayo. I was making fajitas and cut my finger with a knife and then spilled margarita mix all over the counter and thought it would be fun to make a blog about my cooking adventures. I’ve decided to not focus my blog on anything specific (took me 8 months to figure that one out), but rather just on the happenings in my life. I actually did blog this past summer while I completed an internship and I’m glad I did that.

I have been keeping journals for as long as I can remember. I had diaries in grade school and then started writing in notebooks in 6th grade. I kept those up even through mostly through college. I also started a livejournal in 2002 (which means it was…..the summer before my sophomore year in high school-sheesh!). Unfortunately, my last journal and lj entries were in 2008. I can’t believe it’s been two years since I’ve written anything. I actually feel like two years of my life are missing because I haven’t journaled. So much has happened in the past few years (graduated college, got married and completed 3 semesters of grad school are the big things) and I get sad when I can’t go back and reflect on it!

Maybe I should introduce myself! I’m Hannah. I’m currently 23 (will be 24 on Feb. 10). I got married to M on August 1, 2009 and I’m just about to start my last semester of grad school at Illinois State. I graduated from Eastern Illinois University in 2009 with a degree in journalism. I was super-involved at Eastern and decided that I’d rather work with students than do anything journalism-related. That’s why I decided to get my master’s (hehe so still weird to think that I’m working on my Master’s Degree!) in college student personnel administration at ISU.

This will be an exciting and prob stressful semester. I will be finishing up my last semester of school, job searching and house hunting. I am excited to start writing again 🙂

I am going to use this blog to write about my semester, but not only what happens in school and job searching, but in my life as well, including stories about M, and my adventures with cooking (I have no idea what M & I ate in our first year of marriage, but now I am starting to cook more. I want to share what I cook and what has worked and what hasn’t). I throw in some other experiences too…like golfing! I got golf clubs for Christmas and I’m sooo excited to use them! I’ve only actually been golfing like three times (prob twice in high school and once with M last year) and have been to the driving range a few more times. My new clubs are pink! hehe.

I also got an HTC Desire Droid phone for Christmas. I love it so far (minus the fact that I really struggle trying to make actual phone calls). I recently downloaded the wordpress ap. I can’t really imagine writing a whole entry on my phone, but we’ll see! I think I might use my twitter more (I found out how to tweet pics from my phone the other night, so I was excited about that). I might create a new twitter- I made mine probably like at least 3 or 4 years ago (how long has twitter been around anyway?) and I still have a P in my user name which means I made it before I got married. Plus, I only follow like 4 people and have 1 follower, so it probably won’t be that big of deal.

okay. I think that’s it for now!

 

This entry was posted in My Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

